INTERNATIONAL BRIGADE COMMEMORATION COMMITTEE

Spanish Anti-Fascist War 1936-39

Unveiling of Sculpture to The International Brigades

on

SATURDAY 13th OCTOBER 2007 @ 11.00am

Writers' Square, Donegall Street, Belfast



Inscription

"Dedicated to the people of Belfast, the island of Ireland and beyond who joined the XV International Brigade to fight Fascism in the Spanish Civil War 1936-39, and to those men and women from all traditions who supported the Spanish working people and their Republic.

This sculpture was commissioned by the International Brigades Commemoration Committee and unveiled by Bob Doyle International Brigade veteran on 13th October 2007.

No Pasaran - They Shall Not Pass"

Sculpted by Anto Brennan. Erected by the Open Window Production Team, Gerard Brennan.

The IBCC can be contacted at:

45/47 Donegall Street Belfast BT1 2FN

kevin.doherty@burc.org

or

cpcrossey@hotmail.com

For more information see:

www.geocities.com/IrelandSCW/org

www.connollycolumn.org

'International Brigades Commemoration Committee, who organised the events, fundraised, and who gave of their time and finances to have the contribution of International Brigades to humanity remembered.'

> Chair: Pol MacAdaim Vice Chair: Ciaran Crossey Secretary: Kevin Doherty Treasurers: Frank Cammock & Joe Palmer.

Committee Members

Bobby McConnell; Carol Osburn; Ciaran O'Brolchain; Danny Burke; Eamonn McKinley; Gerry Gleason; Harry Donaghy; Ian Beard; Joe Law; John and Mary Gray; John McVey; John Pinkerton; Kerry Fleck; Lynda and Ernest Walker; Manus O'Riordan; Mark Davison; Martin Lynch; Moira Morton;. Sean Quinn;

The IBCC wish to thank the following who made donations or provided support:

Antoinette McMillen; Belfast & District Trades Union Council: Belfast T-shirt Company; Belfast Unemployed Resource Centre: Brendan Mackin: Brenda O'Riordan; Brenda Callaghan: Betty Boyd; Brian Campfield: Brian McAnoy; Liz Shaw; Bob Dovle, International Brigade Veteran: Catherine Rojas-Olavarria; Cherry Duncan; Chris McGimpsey; Civil Public Service Union; Clare Hanna: Collective Of Musicians Belfast Organisation; Communist Party of Ireland; Connect (NI); Cassidy's Bar; The National Club; Connolly Books (Dublin); Craigavon Trades Council; Communication Workers Union; Donal Lyons; Darren Davison: Declan Hill; Dermot and Eleanor Kelly; Denis Bowers;

Dessie Donnelly: Donall MacSiulais; Dr John Burton: Dublin Trades Council; Eugene McCartan; FBU Region 2 (NI); Fire Brigades Union; Frank Costello; Frankie Gallagher; Gerry Grainger; Gerry Jones; Gerry McLaughlin; Geraldine & Paul Bradley; GMPU Amicus section of Unite (Bedford); Grampian and Northern Isles District Committee -T & G section of Unite: Harry Owens; Helen McGowan; Herman and Marion Baur; Hugh Odling-Smee; Ian Hill: Ireland Region Amicus section of Unite; NI Health Service Branch Amicus section of Unite; Irish Congress of Trade Unions; Irish Federation of University Teachers; Irish Republican Felons Association; Irish Socialist Network; International Brigade Memorial Trust; James Connolly Debating Society;

Jason Brannigan;

Jimmy and Edwina Stewart; Jim Ouinn (Unite): Jim Barbour: Jimmy Quinn (FBU); Jimmy McDermott: Joe Mulheron: Joe Bowers: John Hewitt bar and restaurant; John Corev: John McLaughlin: Kate McKeating: Liam & Angela Delaney; Linen Hall Library; Mandate: Margaret Galloway; Marianne and Rosa McVey; Maria Gallego-Calderon; Marlene Sidaway; Mel Corry: Messines Association: Mick O'Reilly; Noelle Boyle: Noirin Greene; Northern Ireland Public Service Alliance: Northern Visions Community TV: N.I. Women's Rights Movement; Paddy Mackel; Paul McGuire; Public & Commercial Services union: Pearse McKenna: Pedro Donald; Peter Bunting: Public Services Executive Union (Dublin); Raymond O'Regan;

Railway & Maritime Transport Union; RMT (Glasgow Branch): RMT (Portsmouth Branch): RMT (Scotland); Rev. John Budd: Robert McMillen: Rovce Harper: Ryan McKinney: Sean Kelly: Services, Industrial, Professional and Technical Union: Silvia Calamati: Songclub Ernesto Che Guevara; Steve Nugent Stevie Nolan, Trademark; Strabane Trades Council; Terri Hoolev: Tim Moore; Tim Smith: Transport & General Section of Unite; The Communist Party of Ireland, Northern Area Committee: The Half Stoned Cowboys; The Spaniard bar: The Workers' Party: Tony Maguire; Transport Salaried Staffs' Association; Union of Construction, Allied Trades and Technicians: Unison: Victoria Gleason; Warren & Pell publishing: Alan Warren; Alan Harpur;

Thanks to the following who assisted the IBCC:

Minister Margaret Ritchie MLA; DSD; Pat McCarthy; Community Relations Council; Belfast City Council;

And thanks also to the many others who supported our fundraising events and purchased IBCC merchandise.